Adventures in Box Making (The Conclusion: part two)

Adventures in Box Making (The Conclusion: part one)

In order to have a finished looking project, I made a stand for the user-created models to sit on and another box to house the plasticine. The stand was just a simple linseed oiled ply rectangle and I constructed the box from the three-layered card, linseed oiled ply, metal and thread. It was rectangular to go with the stand and I added a lid to keep the plasticine intact. I decided to keep it a simple rectangle as opposed to making another hexagon as I felt that a rectangular box looked more classy, the plasticine would fit in nicely and because its use differed from that of the hexagon-shaped boxes. The use of the same materials as the hexagons indicated the relationship between the different shaped objects. I kept it simple for the lid and the closures by using the same dumbbell shaped fittings as I used for the object box’s handle. I drilled a hole into the lid and glued one in as the lid’s handle and then used short ones at the back to attach the rubberized thread and slightly longer ones at the front to catch the straps of rubberized thread.


Leave a comment